Blog / WATCH: Elisabeth Leonskaja

WATCH: Elisabeth Leonskaja

Posted on 17 Feb 2016 by Leo Messias

Pianist Elisabeth Leonskaja, is the unrivalled doyenne of the Russian old school, a formidably distinguished personality and one of the most celebrated pianists of our time. 

We take a look into some of the performances that have earned Leonskaja the moniker ‘lioness of the keyboard’, ahead of her Leonskaja’s Mozart tour with the ACO, guest directed by Roman Simović, concertmaster of the London Symphony Orchestra. 

Leonskaja performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.22.

Interprets Brahms’ Piano Concerto No.2 I. Allegro ma non troppo – one of the great piano concertos of all time – with incredible grace. 

Stuns a Gstaad audience with a spellbinding display of her effortless virtuosity performing Schubert’s Impromptu Op.90 No.2 in E flat major for the concert encore.  

Displays an impeccable ability to reflect Mozart’s many shifting moods and contrasting sections in the his Piano Sonata No.12 in F major, K.332  

Plays Mozart’s beautiful Sonata No.12, K.332 – Adagio 



Leonskaja's Mozart

26 August-7 September
Adelaide, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Wollongong 

R STRAUSS Sextet from Capriccio
MOZART Piano Concerto No.9 in E-flat major ‘Jeunehomme’
BEETHOVEN (arr. strings) String Quartet in E-flat major, Op.127