Blog / Barbican Centre Program Announced

Barbican Centre Program Announced

Posted on 25 Jan 2018 by ACO Marketing

Richard Tognetti at the Barbican Centre in 2017

Two months after announcing our three-year residency as the Barbican Centre’s International Associate Ensemble at Milton Court, we are thrilled to reveal our first season at this spectacular concert venue.

Ranging from celebrated masterpieces by Mozart and Beethoven to our critically-acclaimed cinematic collaboration Mountain, we will perform three concerts in the Barbican Presents 2018/19 Season that reflect the daring virtuosity, energy and sense of adventure that have built our international reputation.

The UK season will begin with Mozart's Last Three Symphonies, where we will perform three works that represent the pinnacle of Mozart's musical genius. We toured this program nationally around Australia as part of our 40th anniversary celebrations in 2015, flooring critics who described the concerts as "magnificent" (Sydney Morning Herald) and "miraculous" (The Daily Telegraph).

We will then premiere the live performance version of Mountain, our cinematic collaboration with Jennifer Peedom, Renan Ozturk and Willem Dafoe, to audiences in the UK. Featuring the music of Arvo Pärt, Vivaldi, Beethoven and Richard Tognetti, Mountain is a breath-taking exploration of humanity’s obsession with mountains, wilderness and the sublime force of high places. The film-only version of Mountain was released in UK cinemas in late 2017, with critics praising the film as "spectacular" (The Times) and "a virtuoso piece of film-making" (Gramophone Magazine).

Our final concert in the series, Bach, Beethoven and Bartók, sees Australian operatic superstar Nicole Car and musicians from the Guildhall School of Music & Drama join the Orchestra onstage for a quintessentially diverse program that ranges from Sufjan StevensRun, Rabbit, Run, to Richard Tognetti’s arrangement of JS Bach’s Ricercar a 6 from The Musical Offering.

Tickets are on sale now from the Barbican Centre. Full details via the link below.


Full Details