Blog / Concert Introduction: Tipi and Satu on Olli Mustonen

Concert Introduction: Tipi and Satu on Olli Mustonen

Posted on 24 Aug 2015 by Leo Messias

We caught up with ACO Principal Cellist Timo-Veikko Valve to hear his thoughts on the upcoming national tour featuring fellow Finnish composer, conductor and pianist Olli Mustonen. Also later in the video, ACO Principal Violinist Satu Vänskä plays an excerpt of Shostakovich’s highly demanding string quartet No.9.

“Personally I think this is one of the most interesting programs in 2015. We are highlighting Bach, Hindemith, Shostakovich and Olli Mustonen himself.

Olli Mustonen is one of the most interesting composers of our time and one of the most versatile performers around. For this concert I thought we needed a cello concerto from Olli. So we decided to orchestrate a piece that he had already written in 2006, his cello sonata. I always thought there is something in this piece that fits the ACO style of playing really well.

Bach, Hindemith and Shostakovich are all composers who have links to Olli’s music. The program is a very interesting retrospective on Olli’s output, and it reflects on where he comes from and where he might be going with his music.

In this program we will be seeing a lot of different ‘temperaments’ from Olli. Featured in the program is one of his all-time favourites, Hindemith’s The Four Temperaments, and I’m curious to see how Olli’s playing of JS Bach’s Concerto for Keyboard combines with the vitality of the ACO.

Shostakovich’s string quartet No.9 is a tremendously energetic and demanding piece. It is always a bit of a gamble when we expand music for string quartets to arrangements for larger string ensembles. It will be a hugely exciting rollercoaster ride to play it with Olli and the ACO.”

Timo-Veikko Valve, ACO Principal Cello

#ACO15: Olli Mustonen, Bach & Shostakovich
12-20 September

Conductor. Pianist. Composer. This September discover Finland’s ultimate musical triple threat with the ACO’s firebrand virtuosos.

JS BACH Concerto for Keyboard in D major, BWV1054
HINDEMITH The Four Temperaments
OLLI MUSTONEN Sonata for Cello & Orchestra (World Premiere)
SHOSTAKOVICH (arr. for string orchestra) String Quartet No.9