Blog / In the Press: Mozart’s Last Symphonies

In the Press: Mozart’s Last Symphonies

Posted on 6 Oct 2015 by Cristina Maldonado

Richard Tognetti & ACO. Photo: Simon van Boxtel

‘Dash of Tognetti adds elixir of youth to magnificent mix. (4½ stars)’

‘During the past 25 years Tognetti has given the ACO a sense of eternal youthfulness, and Mozart has always been a potent ingredient in the elixir. Bravo and here’s to many more quarter centuries.’

Peter McCallumThe Sydney Morning Herald, 30 September
Read More

‘Richard Tognetti’s silver anniversary tribute comes with Mozart’s miraculous trifecta.’

Steve MoffattDaily Telegraph, 30 September
Read More

‘Jubilant Jupiter, triumphant Tognetti – 25 years with the Australian Chamber Orchestra. (4 stars)’

‘The sound produced was unique, robust and without exception well-articulated. Vibrato became a tool for expressive articulation and thus was selectively used, rather than as a standard tone colour. Not only every symphony but every movement had its own character, expressed partly by Tognetti’s sensitive ear to details and partly by Mozart’s ingenious orchestration – despite the fact that the three symphonies were written back to back within only about six weeks, the composer selected a different mix of wind and brass instruments for each of them.’

Zoltán Szabó, Bachtrack, 5 October
Read More 

‘Mozart’s Last Symphonies with Richard Tognetti – ACO Triumph.’

The concert provided all the animated people around me with a pure, exhilarating feeling of joy. Mozart’s Symphony No.39 in E-Flat Major, K.543, followed by the Symphony No.40 in G Minor, K.550 and then after interval, the Symphony No.41 in C, K.551 titled celestially ‘Jupiter’, were originally part of the program the year Richard Tognetti was appointed leader.’

Carolyn McDowall, The Culture Concept Circle, 5 October
Read More

#ACO15: Mozart’s Last Symphonies with Richard Tognetti
29 September – 12 October

Richard Tognetti leads the ACO in an all-Mozart program featuring the composers last 3 symphonies.

MOZART Symphony No.39
MOZART Symphony No.40
MOZART Symphony No.41 ‘Jupiter’