Blog / Listen: Egarr & The Golden Age Playlist

Listen: Egarr & The Golden Age Playlist

Posted on 28 May 2015 by Leo Messias


Ahead of the Egarr and the Golden Age national tour we’ve compiled a playlist with the compositions from the Baroque and Classical periods that are featured in the program. Just click on the playlist below and log in using your Facebook details or sign up for a Spotify account – it’s free!

Hear Haydn’s dramatic Symphony No.44 and his exuberant Keyboard Concerto in D major, or works by Henry Purcell and William Lawes, two titans of English music, that reveal the incredible breadth of musical innovation in the early Baroque period, with beguiling harmonies and expressive musical colour.

Also in the program, JS Bach’s Violin Concerto in A minor – a magnificent concerto written in the 1720s, one of only two Bach wrote for solo violin.

Can’t get enough? Listen to our exclusive live recordings and much more on ACO Sessions on Spotify.


13-28 June

Travel back in time with Richard Egarr as he presents music from the Golden Age performed on the ACO’s stunning collection of rare Italian instruments from the 16th to the 18th centuries.

PURCELL The Fairy Queen: Suite (selections)
W LAWES Consort set in 6 parts in C major
JS BACH Violin Concerto in A minor
HAYDN Keyboard Concerto in D major
HAYDN Symphony No.44 in E minor