Blog / Satu Vänskä

Satu Vänskä

Posted on 28 Apr 2017 by Cristina Maldonado

Satu Vänskä. Photo credit: Jack Saltmiras.

“This whole concert is about showcasing the ACO in all its diversity. It demonstrates the range of what we can do and what we can play.” Principal Violin Satu Vänskä

Satu was born to a Finnish family in Japan where she took her first violin lessons at the age of three. When her family moved back to Finland in 1989, she continued her studies and career in Europe before moving to Australia to join the ACO.

This May, audiences across Australia will see her take centre stage and direct the Orchestra for ACO Soloists. In this program curated by Satu, she will perform an ACO first: Locatelli’s extraordinarily difficult Harmonic Labyrinth. The manuscript for this concerto bears the inscription 'facilis aditus, difficilis exitus' – easy to enter, difficult to exit and sparks will fly as Satu and her 1728 Stradivarius take on this monumental and thrilling piece.

However for her the real highlight will be the Mendelssohn String Quartet No 2 in A Minor. “I have always wanted to perform this piece, and I think it follows nicely from the late Beethoven quartets we performed last year. Beethoven’s late quartets were certainly not popular music in his lifetime. Mendelssohn’s own father and his peers did not value the strange internal complex quartets written by the then fully deaf master. However, the young Mendelssohn was fascinated by them and eagerly studied the scores that had only been published recently. A genius himself, he saw the quality in Beethoven’s works and used them as an inspiration when writing his first mature quartet in a-minor. Mendelssohn was ahead of his time in acknowledging the uniqueness of these late Beethoven works. This is a mindset we like to follow at ACO also: forward- thinking and without prejudice,” Satu says.

5 - 19 May 2017
Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wollongong

Satu Vänskä Director & Violin
Glenn Christensen Violin
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello

RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER Andante for Strings
VIVALDI Concerto for Two Violins and Cello in G minor, RV578
JAMES LEDGER The Natural Order of Things (World Premiere)*
LOCATELLI Violin Concerto in D major The Harmonic Labyrinth
DEBUSSY (arr. Jack Symonds) Sonata for Cello and Piano
MENDELSSOHN (arr. strings) String Quartet No.2 in A minor