Return to list

Classical Destinations II Soundtrack

Classical Destinations II Soundtrack
$ 25.00

Download:  iTunes Store  


CD 1 & Elgar Introduction and Allegro
Richard Tognetti Director and Lead Violin
Australian Chamber Orchestra

Helena Rathbone Director and Lead Violin


The acclaimed music/travel series Classical Destinations features the ACO and ACO2 performing music by Bartok, Handel, Debussy, Prokofiev, Elgar and more. This 2CD set includes the complete performances of the works featured in Classical Destinations II.

Please note, this is not the DVD of the television series, this is the DVD of the ACO's performances from the television series.

Sony Music CD 88697359472

Track Listing

Track Title Time
1 BARTÓK Romanian Folk Dances 06:11
2 DEBUSSY String Quartet Op.10 – Assez vif et bien rythmé 03:48
3 ALBÉNIZ /KREISLER Tango Op.165 No.2 02:26
4 RACHMANINOV Vocalise Op.34 No.14 06:24
5-6 HANDEL Water Music Suite No.1 in F major (HWV 348) – Air and Hornpipe 04:08
7 HANDEL Concerto Grosso in D minor Op.6 No.10 (HWV 328) – Allegro Moderato 01:25
8 ROSSINI The Silken Ladder – Overture 05:41
9 RAVEL Deux Mélodies Hébraïques – Kaddisch 04:56
10-11 PROKOFIEV Sonata in C for Two Violins, Op.56 – Andante cantabile and Allegro 06:03
12 SZYMANOWSKI String Quartet No.2, Op.56 – Vivace, Scherzando 04:37
13 STRAUSS Morgen! Op.27 No.4 04:13
14 SAINT-SAËNS Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor Op.28 09:25
15 TERRACINI Classical Destinations – Theme 03:28
1 RESPIGHI Ancient Airs and Dances Suite No.3 – Arie di Corte 07:42
2 ELGAR Salut d’Amour Op.12 03:37
3-4 ELGAR Serenade for Strings Op.20 – Allegro piacevole and Larghetto 10:15
5 BRITTEN Simple Symphony Op.4 – Playful Pizzicato 03:04
6-7 HOLST St. Paul’s Suite Op.29 No.2 – Ostinato and Finale (The Dargason) 05:06
8 ELGAR Introduction and Allegro for string quartet and orchestra Op.47 - Live Performance 14:14


Selected Audio


“This finely executed album comprises music recorded to accompany the second 13-episode TV series screened on SBS, presented by Simon Callow, in which great Euro..."

The Age