Return to list

Mozart's Last Symphonies

Mozart's Last Symphonies
$ 25.00


Richard Tognetti Director & Violin


“One thing you get with Mozart, and no other composer comes close, is dancing on your own joy.” – Richard Tognetti.

The Australian Chamber Orchestra, directed from the violin by Richard Tognetti, presents a triumphant account of Mozart’s three final symphonies.

This live recording captures the energy and vivacity of the performances given as part of the ACO’s 40th anniversary celebrations in 2015 – concerts that were described as ‘magnificent’ by The Sydney Morning Herald and ‘miraculous’ by the Daily Telegraph. The same program was previously performed by the ACO 26 years ago, when Richard Tognetti – newly appointed as Artistic Director – performed these three symphonies under the visionary baton of early music legend Frans Brüggen.
Since its establishment in November 1975, the Australian Chamber Orchestra has become renowned globally for its inspired programming, unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality, showcased through an extensive and ongoing program of international touring and recordings for many of the world’s top labels.

Composed over the course of just six weeks, these inspirational works represent the pinnacle of artistic achievement: from the sunny lyricism of the 39th, to the tragic cast of the 40th, to the inspired invention of the 41st – the ‘Jupiter’ – they form a mighty epitaph to the work of Mozart’s musical genius.

ACO Recording Projects Supported by The Thomas Foundation.

Track Listing

CD 1:

Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major, KV543 [29’03]

1. I. Adagio – Allegro 10’02
2. II. Andante con moto 7’42
3. III. Menuetto and Trio: Allegretto 3’30
4. IV. Allegro 7’49

Symphony No. 40 in G minor, KV550 [30’25]

5. I. Molto allegro 7’12
6. II. Andante 9’59
7. III. Menuetto and Trio: Allegretto 3’54
8. IV. Allegro assai 9’20

CD 2:

Symphony No. 41 in C major, KV551 ‘Jupiter’ [34’13]

1. I. Allegro vivace 11’24
2. II. Andante cantabile 9’40
3. III. Menuetto and Trio: Allegretto 4’48
4. IV. Molto allegro 8’21