REGIONAL SCHOOLS' CONCERTS AND STRING WORKSHOPS

 

ACO Collective and the ACO Inspire Quartet offer concerts for secondary students and string workshops for students during their regional tours each year. Activities are programmed around ACO Collective’s and ACO Inspire Quartet’s touring schedules and are tailored to the specific communities visited, in consultation with local presenters, teachers and music groups 

Schools Concerts

Our fun and interactive concerts for secondary students provide them with tools to understand and appreciate music. Specially created for schools, these vibrant performances introduce students to musical concepts by inviting them to explore and discover their own responses to the music.

To complement these performances, the ACO offers curriculum aligned resources including worksheets to be completed in class, and videos of the musicians discussing the music and specific listening points for students to focus on.

To book, refer to our events list.

String Workshops

Students play alongside ACO Collective and ACO Inspire musicians in three-hour workshops that are structured in consultation with local teachers and community groups. They learn to play in a chamber orchestra without a conductor, build skills in technical accuracy and are guided in interpretation and style.

There is no recommended standard for applicants for regional String Workshops. We work with local string teachers and ensemble leaders to devise a tailored program for each area. Please complete a separate application form for each student.

2017 Events

NSW
Armidale String Workshop
11am - 2pm | Thur 31 Aug
New England Conservatorium of Music
Applications Close Wed 19 Jul

Bellingen String Workshop
2pm - 5pm | Sat 2 Sep
Bellingen Memorial Hall
Applications Close Wed 19 Jul

Lismore Secondary Schools’ Concert
11am - 12pm | Mon 4 Sep
NORPA Lismore
BOOK NOW

Port Macquarie Secondary Schools' Concert
10am - 11am | Wed 30 Aug
Glasshouse Port Macuquarie
BOOK NOW

VIC
Bendigo String Workshop
2pm - 5pm | Fri 16 Jun
The Capital
Applications close Wed 3 May

Hamilton String Workshop
10am - 1pm | Wed 21 Jun
Hamilton Performing Arts Centre
Applications close Wed 3 May
 
Healesville String Workshop
2pm - 5pm | Wed 14 Jun
The Memo
Applications close Wed 3 May

Warrnambool Secondary Schools' Concert
2pm - 3pm | Thu 22 Jun
Lighthouse Theatre
BOOK NOW

QLD
Cairns String Workshop

10am - 1pm | Fri 15 Sep
Tanks Arts Centre
Application close Wed 2 Aug

Mackay Secondary Schools' Concert
11am - 12pm | Tue 12 Sep
Mackay Entertainment and Convention Centre
BOOK NOW

Rockhampton String Workshop
3.30pm - 6.30pm | Fri 8 Sep
Black Box Walter Reid Cultural Centre
Applications close Wed 2 Aug

Toowoomba String Workshop
10am - 1pm | Wed 6 Sep
Empire Theatre
Applications close Wed 2 Aug

WA
Albany String Workshop

10am - 1pm | Thu 23 Mar
Albany Entertainment Centre
Applications close Wed 8 Feb

Bunbury String Workshop
10am - 1pm | Wed 22 Mar
Bunbury Cathedral Grammar School
Applications close Wed 8 Feb

Manudurah Schools' Concert
11am - 12pm | Tue 21 Mar
Mandurah Performing Arts Centre
BOOK NOW

String Workshop Online Application Form

Create your own user feedback survey

Click here if you can't access the online application form 

2017 HARD-COPY APPLICATION FORM