ACO Collective at Crescendo - Australian Chamber Orchestra

ACO Collective at Crescendo

9 September 2018


CORELLI Concerto Grosso in D major, Op.6 No.1
GYÖRGY KURTÁG Sinfonia breve per archi
VIVALDI Concerto for Four Violins in B minor
GYÖRGY KURTÁG a Százévesnek
MUFFAT Armonico tributo: Sonata No.2 in G minor
STRAVINSKY Concerto in D
SOFIA GUBAIDULINA Reflections on the Theme B-A-C-H
BACH Brandenburg Concerto No.3 in G major
BACH (arr. Igor Stravinsky) Prelude No.4 in B minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier


Matthew Truscott Violin
ACO Collective

Matthew Truscott, who was recently appointed concertmaster of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and is also one of the Leaders of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, joins the ACO Collective as guest director for the Sydney Opera House’s Crescendo program.

In debut placement as director with the ACO, Truscott has opted to explore the many facets of the Concerto Grosso. The program features music by Corelli, Vivaldi, Bach and Stravinsky, with Bach’s Third Brandenburg Concerto among one of the finest examples ever of concerto grosso writing, allowing the orchestra to enjoy moments of individual brilliance as soloists. 

Interwoven with this is music by Shostakovich’s Soviet successor, Sofia Gubaidulina, and the Hungarian György Kurtág whose musical lineage traces from Bartók through to Webern and Stravinsky.

ACO Collective’s Crescendo performance takes place on Sunday 9 September at 3pm. Tickets are available directly from the Sydney Opera House’s site via the link below.


Buy Tickets