Beethoven 94 - 15 August 2012


MESSIAEN Prayer of Christ ascending towards his Father, from L’Ascension   
BRAHMS Geistliches Lied               
BEETHOVEN Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage       
BEETHOVEN Symphony No.9  


Richard Tognetti Artistic Director and Lead Violin
Choir of Clare College, Cambridge (Graham Ross Director)
Lucy Crowe Soprano
Fiona Campbell Mezzo Soprano
Allan Clayton Tenor
Matthew Brook Bass

Begin Ticket Purchase >>

The ACO's internationally-acclaimed Beethoven symphony series reaches its climax with Symphony No.9, "Ode to Joy", featuring one of the finest British choirs and an exceptional line-up of soloists.

Critics called the ACO's recent Beethoven concert in London “the finest concert of the summer” and spoke of “thrilling playing”, “vibrant drive” and “total involvement”, concluding, “this compact chamber orchestra matches anything Europe can offer in energy, precision and interpretative rigour.”

Building to the symphony, a trio of serene yet intense works, swelling to Beethoven's depiction of a sea voyage.


Download PDF program for Beethoven 9Download the program (PDF) or view online


Selected Audio


“Superlatives seem inadequate for this latest and consummate instalment of the Beethoven cycle by Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra. In short..."

The Australian

Inside ACO

#ACOonTour: Reviews

“The Australians, led by concertmaster Richard Tognetti, dove into both works with vigor and liveliness. All the tempos were fast, particularly in the slow movements. What distinguished these performances were the dynamics. The Australians played with constant adjustments in loudness … Continue reading

The post #ACOonTour: Reviews appeared first on Australian Chamber Orchestra.

#ACOonTour: United States of America

Missed the #sydneystorm, but still getting soaked in the rain! Day off down at #SouthBeach #Miami :: #ACOonTour #ACO15 A photo posted by Australian Chamber Orchestra (@austchamberorchestra) on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:05pm PDT Like this piano, we too are … Continue reading

The post #ACOonTour: United States of America appeared first on Australian Chamber Orchestra.

Visit the Blog