Brahms 4 & Isserlis19 - 29 October 2013


DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No.4


Richard Tognetti Director and Violin
Steven Isserlis Cello

Begin Ticket Purchase >>

The Fourth is Brahms' final and greatest symphony. Here, Brahms takes flight, as he melds the soaring sounds of Romanticism to classical structure in a constantly evolving drama.

Brahms premiered the symphony with a small orchestra of 48 musicians, which he declined to augment. We follow his lead and perform with wind instruments from Brahms' time.
Steven Isserlis is one of our favourite collaborators – the epitome of the intelligent and passionate cellist.   There could be no better soloist for Dvorák's ardent and much-loved concerto. Isserlis first played it as a child. "I used to think it was so joyous," he says. "As I've got older, the more tragic it seems."

The Melbourne performances of Brahms 4 & Isserlis are a co-presentation with Melbourne Festival.


The Melbourne performance on Sun 20 Oct features a free post-concert talk with Richard Tognetti and Steven Isserlis in conversation with Sir Nicholas Kenyon, Managing Director of the Barbican Centre in London.

Download PDF program for Brahms 4 & IsserlisDownload the program (PDF) or view online

Selected Audio


“Steven Isserlis’ technical mastery was matched by an obvious love for the (Dvorak Cello Concerto)… The ACO’s rendition (of Brahms’ Symph..."

The Australian