ACO Ensemble in Picton - Australian Chamber Orchestra

ACO Ensemble in Picton

19 July - 26 November 2013


BACH Brandenburg Concerto No.3* 
MOZART String Quartet No.4
GRIEG String Quartet No.1
*Featuring Picton Strings


Zoë Black Violin
Veronique Serret Violin
Caroline Henbest Viola
Daniel Yeadon Cello

Bach’s extroverted and colourful Brandenburg Concertos are the most celebrated works of the Baroque and it is exhilarating to experience the talented young musicians from Picton Strings perform Brandenburg Concerto No.3 alongside musicians from the Australian Chamber Orchestra, “one of the finest chamber orchestras in the world” The Telegraph (UK). 

Four ACO musicians then take centre stage in quartets by Mozart and Grieg. Mozart’s melodious and rich string quartet brims with the bright effervescence of the teenaged composer. Grieg’s magnificent first string quartet is one of the masterworks of the Romantic era, almost orchestral in its scale and depth, the composer himself said “it aims at breadth, to soar…”