Hilliard Ensemble - Australian Chamber Orchestra

Hilliard Ensemble

10 - 22 March 2012


ELGAR Serenade for strings
SHERYNGHAM Ah, gentle Jesu
RASKATOV Obikhod (Australian Premiere)
PÄRT Most Holy Mother of God
GREGORIAN CHANT Veni Creator Spiritus
ANON. (FRENCH MEDIEVAL) Veni Creator Spiritus
EDWARDS Veni Creator Spiritus
ARENSKY Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky


Helena Rathbone Lead Violin
The Hilliard Ensemble

The Hilliard Ensemble is famous for mesmerising performances and chart-topping recordings of early and contemporary vocal music. Gregorian chant and French medieval hymn hypnotically intertwine with Edwards' orchestral setting of Veni Creator Spiritus (Come Holy Spirit). A cappella prayers from 15th century England and Arvo Pärt join Raskatov's Russian Orthodox chant setting, written for The Hilliard Ensemble and string orchestra.

This concert also celebrates the luscious ACO string sound with two opulent works by Elgar and Arensky after Tchaikovsky.


Chicago Tribune

“…an absorbing, uniquely moving experience.”

Evening Star

"The audience, held as if under a spell, seemed barely to breathe, as if the slightest sound would break it, but once the last notes had died away their rapturous applause echoed long and hard in appreciation of a unique musical experience."

Time Out New York

“Few ensembles have attracted the fervent devotion that England’s Hilliard Ensemble has garnered over the last 30 years.”


Selected Audio