Piano Quintets - Australian Chamber Orchestra

Piano Quintets

10 - 23 July 2014


DVOŘÁPiano Quintet in A, Op.81


Satu Vänskä Violin
Rebecca Chan Violin
Christopher Moore Viola
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello
Paavali Jumppanen Piano

Satu Vänskä performs firecracker showpiece Subito on the ACO’s Stradivarius violin, launching us into a chamber music concert of Slavic melancholy and joy.

Written just prior to the Nazi invasion of the USSR, Shostakovich’s Piano Quintet is a dramatic and harrowing premonition of the coming terror.

Melting away the turbulence of Shostakovich is the bright, melodious joy of Dvořák’s piano quintet, one of the greatest pieces of chamber music in the canon. Internationally regarded for performances of “immense power and an extraordinary range of colours” (New York Times), Finnish pianist Paavali Jumppanen is our perfect partner for these stirring works.

Boston Globe

"Sheer virtuoso firepower."

"Jumppanen has opalescent clarity and imperturbable evenness of touch."

The Australian

"[Satu] Vänskä, performing on the ACO's 1728 Stradivarius, was in glorius form."

Limelight Magazine

"[Timo-Veikko Valve's] technical command of a magnificent Guarneri instrument allowed a wider range of dynamics, enabling him to unlock more imaginative possibilities from the notes on the page...his awareness of sonority within the ambient space allowing vividly shaped phrases to hang in the air...This was deeply expressive playing."


Selected Audio