The Lark Ascending - Australian Chamber Orchestra

The Lark Ascending

15 - 24 March 2018


CYRUS MEURANT New Work World Premiere*
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS (arr. Adam Johnson) The Lark Ascending
PURCELL Fantasia Upon One Note
BRITTEN (arr. David Matthews) String Quartet No.2

*Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra


Pekka Kuusisto Director & Violin
ACO Collective

Did Vaughan Williams know when he wrote The Lark Ascending that it would go on to become one of the most popular classical works ever written? 

We are excited to present ACO Collective Artistic Director, Pekka Kuusisto, playing this poignantly brilliant masterpiece.

Joining The Lark on this program are two other English works separated by some 265 years: Henry Purcell’s Fantasia Upon One Note contains a middle voice that plays literally one note throughout, and Benjamin Britten’s Second String Quartet was written to commemorate 250 years since Purcell’s death, providing a neat link between these two works. 

To open this concert we have a world premiere by Cyrus Meurant, an Australian composer with a growing reputation, who has written a new work especially for these remarkable musicians.


ACO Collective's tour of The Lark Ascending will visit:

Queens Park Theatre - Geraldton
Thu 15 Mar

Goldfields Arts Centre - Kalgoorlie
Fri 16 Mar

Mandurah Arts Centre
Sat 17 Mar

Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre
Tue 20 Mar

Margaret River Cultural Centre
Thu 22 Mar

Albany Entertainment Centre
Sat 24 Mar

Tickets will be available directly from these venues. Check back here for individual ticket links closer to the date.