Paganini/Tognetti - Australian Chamber Orchestra


10 December 2014


JS BACH (ARR. TOGNETTI) Preludio from Partita No.3 in E major, BWV1006
PAGANINI (ARR. TOGNETTI) Caprice No.5 in A minor
PENDERECKI String Quartet No.1 (excerpts) 
HINDEMITH Trauermusik
TOGNETTI Deviance (on Paganini’s Caprice No.24)
SCHUBERT Quartettsatz in C minor, D.703
TOGNETTI Caprice on Caprices (DEVA) For 3 Violins & Strings with Ike See
BEETHOVEN (ARR. TOGNETTI) Finale from Violin Sonata No.9 in A major, Op.47 ‘Kreutzer’



Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Satu Vänskä Violin
Christopher Moore Viola

Richard Tognetti directs a program of Paganini string showpieces, high octane 20th-century string works and an arrangement of Mozart’s 'Queen of the Night' aria: Hell's Vengeance Boils in My Heart.

Invoking the diabolical technical wizardry of Paganini, Tognetti performs numerous reworked Paganini caprices more devilishly difficult than the originals. Schubert was utterly enraptured by Paganini’s talent.

The flashing scales of Schubert’s Quartettsatz require breakneck virtuosity from the violins and it is a thrilling piece to play and to experience live. Hindemith’s melody provides a touching moment of repose in this otherwise full-throttle concert.

The Australian

On Tognetti's Paganini Caprices: "Tognetti created a new work embodying a music portrait of the dead genius reborn in the living virtuosity of the ACO."

Canberra Times

"Moore again proved himself to be one of the ACO's greatest assets...Vänskä, performing on the ACO's 1728 Stradivarius, was in equally glorious form, her tone inviting and technique secure."

The Australian

"In his Caprice on Caprices, Richard Tognetti inventively recast two of Paganini's caprices for solo violin (Nos 17 and 20). Fragments of the original melodies regularly emerged and fell back into the eerie, swirling ensemble."


"for Tognetti's Caprice on Paganini Caprices (DEVA) the ACO whispers, trickles and flirts between cascades of strings that soon become torrents."


Selected Audio