Tognetti in Recital - Australian Chamber Orchestra

Tognetti in Recital

22 - 25 August 2014


PROKOFIEV Five Melodies: Selections
PROKOFIEV Violin Sonata No.2
DEBUSSY Violin Sonata
BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata No.10 in G


Richard Tognetti Violin
Steven Osborne Piano

Pianist Steven Osborne’s recent concerts with us were hailed as “the most thrilling musical memory of the entire 2012 season” (The Australian), “an evening of pure delight” (West Australian) and “a ripsnorter of a performance” (News Local) so it’s no surprise Richard Tognetti chose Osborne to partner in this rare and intimate recital.

Together they perform three violin sonatas, Prokofiev’s virtuosic and lyrical showpiece, Debussy’s powerful last-ever completed work and the final and most reflective of Beethoven’s violin sonatas.

The concert opens with Prokofiev’s lyrical and graceful melodies and Fratres, described by Tognetti as "Arvo Pärt at his instrumental best."

Download the program (PDF)

The Age

"Beethoven's sonata gave listeners plenty of opportunities to admire the sound-colours that Tognetti can generate from his splendid instrument."

The Herald

"Steven Osborne unleashed a spectacular performance...packed to the roof with fun, wit, fireworks, dazzling pianism."

Sydney Morning Herald

"Osborne's readings mixed dazzling keyboard energy and nuanced intimacy."

The Australian

"Tognetti [in recital] was at his creative best...[he] created a magical atmosphere."


Selected Audio