Transforming Strauss & Mozart - Australian Chamber Orchestra

Transforming Strauss & Mozart

8 - 19 September 2018


DOWLAND Lachrimæ Antiquæ
WAGNER (arr. Sebastian Gürtler) Prelude to Tristan und Isolde
BACH Ricercar a 6 from Musical Offering
R STRAUSS (arr. Rudolf Leopold) Metamorphosen
MOZART Grande Sestetto Concertante


Helena Rathbone Violin
Aiko Goto Violin
Nicole Divall Viola
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello
Melissa Barnard Cello
Maxime Bibeau Double Bass

As Richard Strauss got older, he became fascinated by the textures in chamber music. His Metamorphosen is a well-formed example of this focus. Usually performed by 23 string players, here you’ll witness it stripped back to its raw, powerful core in a chamber program curated by our Principal Cello, Tipi.

Wagner’s gut-wrenching Prelude to Tristan und Isolde depicts our most intimate and passionate feelings, while Mozart’s popular Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola, in the composer’s arrangement for sextet called the Grande Sestetto Concertante, is a showcase for the supreme talents of the ACO musicians. 

Together with Bach and Dowland this is a program full of inspirational music and palpable emotions. Not to be missed.


This performance is currently only available as part of our 2018 Subscription Season. If you would like to purchase outside of a subscription you will have to wait until 'Choose Your Own' Flexi-Packs become available on 26 October, or single tickets become available on 2 November.