European Tour | Vienna - Australian Chamber Orchestra

European Tour | Vienna

14 - 15 November 2017


JS BACH (arr. Tognetti) The Art of Fugue: Contrapunctus I - IV
MOZART Piano Concerto No.15 in B flat, K.450
BEETHOVEN (arr. strings) String Quartet, Op.130
BEETHOVEN (arr. strings) Grosse Fugue, Op.133 


Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Pierre-Laurent Aimard Piano

As part of our European tour, Richard Tognetti and the Orchestra perform alongside pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard at Wiener Konzerthaus.


The Art of Fugue was Bach’s last major project and this definitive exploration of the possibilities of counterpoint is perhaps his most ambitious undertaking, transcending mere theory to achieve rapturous heights.


Beethoven was deeply influenced by Bach, studying his scores in the library of the Archduke Rudolph. He was driven to explore the fugal form, in works such as the Fugue in D major – his only late work completed for string quintet – and notably his Grosse Fuge, which The New Yorker music critic Alex Ross called “a musicological Holy Grail”, and “the most radical work by the most formidable composer in history”.


For these concerts, the Grosse Fuge takes its original place as the finale of the String Quartet Op.130, a work that veers from torrential passion to aching beauty.