Blog / Dive In: Beethoven & Prokofiev

Dive In: Beethoven & Prokofiev

Posted on 20 Aug 2018 by Bernard Rofe

Italian Violinist Lorenza Borrani

The ACO's resident librarian and music expert Bernard Rofe has collated a preview of the music and composers that will appear in Beethoven & Prokofiev.

Lorenza Borrani

Leader of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, fiery Italian violinist Lorenza Borrani returns as Guest Director of the ACO for this program of emotion-charged music. See Borrani in action in this short video filmed at the Styriarte Festival in Graz.

DOBRINKA TABAKOVA Such Different Paths

Such Different Paths was written by British/Bulgarian composer Dobrinka Tabakova for Spectrum Concerts Berlin and Dutch violinist Janine Jansen, and aims to capture “a sense of journey”. Each instrument meanders on its own path, whilst simultaneously working with the ensemble as a whole, and the music radiates a distinctly folk-like quality.

BEETHOVEN (arr. strings) String Quartet in F major, Op.135

Beethoven’s final string quartet is on a smaller scale than many of his other late quartets, but tackles the largest issue of all – the concept of human mortality. Composed one year before Beethoven's death, the final movement bears the words “Must it be?”, to which he responds “It must be!”. Conductors as eminent as Toscanini and Bernstein have transcribed the quartet for string orchestra, adding symphonic grandeur to the work.


This performance is part of our 2019 Season. Tickets can be purchased individually, or as part of a full subscription or flexi-pack at a discounted rate.

Use the links below to purchase each ticket type.

Single TicketsSeason Subscriptions Flexi-packs