Blog / Dive In: Celebrating Mozart

Dive In: Celebrating Mozart

Posted on 27 Aug 2018 by Bernard Rofe

Pianist Dejan Lazic

The ACO's resident librarian and music expert Bernard Rofe has collated a preview of the music and composers that will appear in Celebrating Mozart.

Dejan Lazić

Dejan is one of the world's great pianists as well as one of the ACO's best-loved collaborators. Listen to his performance of Beethoven's Fourth Piano Concerto with the ACO here.

HAYDN Symphony No.39 in G minor ‘Tempesta di Mare’

Haydn’s “Tempesta di Mare” (Storm on the Sea) Symphony is his first in the Strum und Drang style, an artistic movement that sought to emphasise “storm and drive” in art. Written for an orchestra containing four horns, it was a direct influence on Mozart’s equally turbulent Symphony No.25.

MOZART Violin Concerto No.3 in G major

Mozart was only 19 when he composed his third violin concerto, but it possesses the sophistication of that by a much older composer. What really shines through is a distinctly folk-like character; especially evident in the third movement, in which the solo violin folk fiddles over rustic drones before exploding into an array triplets.

MOZART Symphony No.25 in G minor

Mozart’s Symphony No.25 is one of only two in a minor key, the other being his 40th. Composed when he was only 17 years old, it is characteristic of the Strum und Drang style that Haydn was already composing in, and its orchestration mirrors Haydn’s 39th symphony, which also features four horns. Famous as the opening music to the 1984 film Amadeus, the music has a tremendous power and sensuality. As one 20th-century commentator put it, “In all of Mozart’s supreme expressions of suffering and terror, there is something shockingly voluptuous."


This performance is part of our 2019 Season. Tickets can be purchased individually, or as part of a full subscription or flexi-pack at a discounted rate.

Use the links below to purchase each ticket type.

Single TicketsSeason Subscriptions Flexi-packs