Paginini Tognetti

JS BACH (ARR. TOGNETTI) Preludio from Partita No.3 in E major, BWV1006
PAGANINI (ARR. TOGNETTI) Caprice No.5 in A minor
PENDERECKI String Quartet No.1 (excerpts) 
HINDEMITH Trauermusik
TOGNETTI Deviance (on Paganini’s Caprice No.24)
SCHUBERT Quartettsatz in C minor, D.703
TOGNETTI Caprice on Caprices (DEVA) For 3 Violins & Strings with Ike See
BEETHOVEN (ARR. TOGNETTI) Finale from Violin Sonata No.9 in A major, Op.47 ‘Kreutzer’


Richard Tognetti directs a program of Paganini string showpieces, high octane 20th-century string works and an arrangement of Mozart’s 'Queen of the Night' aria: Hell's Vengeance Boils in My Heart.

Invoking the diabolical technical wizardry of Paganini, Tognetti performs numerous reworked Paganini caprices more devilishly difficult than the originals. Schubert was utterly enraptured by Paganini’s talent.

The flashing scales of Schubert’s Quartettsatz require breakneck virtuosity from the violins and it is a thrilling piece to play and to experience live. Hindemith’s melody provides a touching moment of repose in this otherwise full-throttle concert.