Egarr and The Golden Age

PURCELL The Fairy Queen: Suite
W LAWES Consort set in 6 parts in C major
JS BACH Violin Concerto in A minor
HAYDN Keyboard Concerto in D major
HAYDN Symphony No.44 in E minor

'Egarr gave a riveting, highly idiosyncratic account of Haydn’s Keyboard Concerto in D major, explosive fingerwork coupling with stylistically and harmonically adventurous cadenzas to memorable effect' The Australian, 17 June

'The orchestra kept the audience guessing, offering passages of slumber then rising to the heights of jubilation with just a bar’s notice' The Age, 14 June

When Richard Egarr, the director of the Academy of Ancient Music, toured with us in 2012, we fell in love with his music-making. Intelligent, irreverent and bristling with energy, he brought new life to forgotten gems. We’re thrilled to welcome him back in 2015.

Hearing the music of Henry Purcell and William Lawes on the ACO's burgeoning collection of late 16th and 18th-century instruments is like travelling in time. Led by a master of historically informed performance, Bach and Haydn will be a revelation.