ACO Artistic Director Richard Tognetti and Principal Cello Timo-Veikko 'Tipi' Valve

Brahms & Dvořák

Brahms & Dvořák
9 - 22 November 2019
An exuberant Season finale. Tickets from $56 
The final concert in our National Tour Season is a big, exuberant celebration. After a brief intro from Australian composer Andrew Ford, we present the Australian Premiere of American composer Andrew Norman’s Gran Turismo, revving up for a showdown by two of the most important names in the romantic era.

Johannes Brahms and Antonín Dvořák were close friends, spiritually as well as professionally. Brahms embraced his rich Germanic music tradition, while Dvořák was carving out a new sound, rooted in the music of his own homeland. Brahms admired the young composer’s dazzling melodic and rhythmic skills and championed his work on an international scale.

Richard Tognetti and Principal Cello Timo-Veikko Valve perform Brahms’s Double Concerto, the composer’s last orchestral work. Brahms’s aim in combining the two solo instruments was to create a deeply sonorous and wide-ranging string sound. Dvořák’s Symphony No.8 expresses a kaleidoscope of emotions and manifests the composer’s love of nature and Czech folk music. Pushing the very concept of a “chamber orchestra” to even greater heights, it’s an explosive finale to our 2019 Season.

Program Detail

ANDREW FORDJouissance
3:00
ANDREW NORMANGran Turismo - Australian Premiere
8:00
BRAHMSConcerto for Violin and Cello in A minor ‘Double Concerto’
34:00
DVOŘÁKSymphony No.8 in G major
36:00
Concert duration
120 mins (incl interval)
Playlist by the ACO
Brahms & Dvořák
Free pre-concert talk
Join us 45 minutes before the performance to learn about the concert from a music expert.

Sun 10 Nov, 1:45pm


Mon 11 Nov, 6:45pm


Tue 12 Nov, 6:45pm


Thu 14 Nov, 6:45pm


Sat 16 Nov, 6:15pm


Tue 19 Nov, 7:15pm


Wed 20 Nov, 6:15pm


Fri 22 Nov, 12:45pm


Sun 17 Nov, 1:15pm


Mon 18 Nov, 6:15pm


Sat 9 Nov, 7:15pm


Artists

Composers

ACO Principal Cello Timo-Veikko 'Tipi' Valve
Icon_news

Dive In: Brahms & Dvořák 

Preview the music and composers that will feature in the program.