Tognetti's Beethoven - Australian Chamber Orchestra

Tognetti's Beethoven

8 - 21 November 2018

Program

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto in D major
BEETHOVEN Symphony No.5 in C minor

Artists

Richard Tognetti Director & Violin


Hum ‘Da Da Da Duuuuum’ out loud, and most people will realise you’re channelling the great Ludwig van Beethoven, such is the power and ubiquity of the first four notes of his Fifth Symphony.

For this performance, the ACO will expand its forces, and also showcase another outstanding signature work, Beethoven’s mighty Violin Concerto. 


It has been some 25 years since Richard Tognetti gave his first performance of the Beethoven Violin Concerto with the ACO back in 1993, and he last performed it with the Orchestra 11 years ago. 
 

It’s long overdue, but as ever, entirely worth the wait and it’s our choice for the climactic finale to the 2018 season. It promises to leave you exhilarated, rejuvenated and ready for 2019.
 

 

Free pre-concert talks

Enhance your concert experience - join us for a chat with music experts 45 minutes before every concert.

Adelaide

Adelaide Town Hall, with Stephen King
Tue 13 Nov 6.45pm

Brisbane      

Queensland Performing Arts Centre, with Eddie Ayres
Mon 19 Nov 6.15pm

Canberra

Llewellyn Hall, with Francis Merson
Sat 10 Nov 7.15pm

Melbourne

Arts Centre Melbourne, with John Weretka
Sun 11 Nov 1.45pm
Mon 12 Nov 6.45pm

Newcastle

Newcastle City Hall, with Francis Merson
Thu 8 Nov 6.45pm

Perth

Perth Concert Hall, with Marilyn Phillips
Wed 14 Nov 6.45pm

Sydney

City Recital Hall, with Francis Merson
Sat 17 Nov 6.15pm
Tue 20 Nov 7.15pm
Wed 21 Nov 6.15pm

Sydney Opera House Concert Hall, with Francis Merson
Sun 18 Nov 1.15pm