SUBS 2_Emperor V2

Beethoven's Emperor

Step into the concert hall of Beethoven’s time in this joyful celebration directed by pianist Kristian Bezuidenhout.


Single tickets are now on sale from $49, purchase as part of a Full-season Subscription to save up to 35%.

How do you find your way into the masterpieces of old? In this program, you’ll travel through the forebears and heirs, and the influencers and influenced, so that you can stand alongside the lucky few who had their hair blown back by the magic of Beethoven’s Emperor the very first time it was played.

Pianist Kristian Bezuidenhout returns to the ACO to direct this celebratory concert from the fortepiano, with Beethoven’s most beloved work at its heart. A longtime friend of the ACO, Bezuidenhout has a special affinity for historical instruments. He relishes the challenge of their foibles and fickleness, coaxing out a sound the composer would have recognised. For a modern audience, it’s an enlightening experience. Beethoven untamed.

Joining the ACO are wind and brass players from the world’s leading period-instrument orchestras, handpicked by Bezuidenhout to recreate Beethoven’s soundworld.

This is a joyful celebration of a great composer and the people he inspired. Hear music from Mozart – whom Beethoven revered; Schubert – the grieved admirer who carried his coffin; and, bringing Beethoven’s legacy into the 21st century, Britta Byström – who composed her way through the silence of lockdown in a beautiful response to Beethoven.

Choose this program because you love Beethoven, but don’t be surprised to find yourself hearing his music as though for the first time.


National Tour Partner
The logo of Wesfarmers Arts


LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No.5 “Emperor”
LOUISE FARRENC Symphony No.3: I. Adagio – Allegro
FRANZ SCHUBERT Impromptu in B-flat major
FRANZ SCHUBERT Rosamunde: Entr’acte No.3
BRITTA BYSTRÖM A Walk to Beethoven’s First Symphony (Australian Premiere)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN (arr. Franz Liszt) Symphony No.1 (excerpt)
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Piano Concerto No.20: III. Allegro assai (Cadenza by Beethoven)


CONCERT duration
Approx. 2 hours, including interval
Playlist by the ACO
Listen to Beethoven's Emperor
Pre-concert talk times

Sat 9 Mar, 6:45pm

Tue 12 Mar, 6:45pm

Wed 13 Mar, 6:45pm

Sat 16 Mar, 6:15pm

Mon 18 Mar, 6:45pm

Sun 17 Mar, 1:45pm

Tue 19 Mar, 7:15pm

Wed 20 Mar, 6:15pm

Fri 22 Mar, 6:15pm

Sat 23 Mar, 6:15pm

Sun 24 Mar, 1:15pm

ACO On Demand

Stream the ACO

ACO On Demand

Register now to access free content. ACO On Demand is the Australian Chamber Orchestra's official streaming platform and home of ACO StudioCast films, exclusive ACO In Concert broadcasts, stunning Pier 2/3 Session videos, and more.