Silence & Rapture

Silence & Rapture

A mesmerising collaboration with Sydney Dance Company featuring countertenor Iestyn Davies and the music of Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt.

Touring to Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra and Brisbane. Tickets from $59, or $35 for under 35s and $25 for students.

Composing three centuries apart, Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt’s timeless music speaks to the human soul. From rockstars and writers to artists and filmmakers, these composers are revered by music lovers across genres and generations. The last time the ACO performed their music together, it was a sell-out.

Richard Tognetti directs this mesmerising collaboration between the ACO and Sydney Dance Company that brings together music, movement and evocative lighting to create something truly extraordinary.

Expressing the luminous longing at the heart of this music is choreography from Rafael Bonachela, Artistic Director Sydney Dance Company, while Gramophone Award-winning countertenor Iestyn Davies, whose performances have been described as “a pleasure that verges on the sublime” (The Guardian) makes his Australian debut, bringing these stirring melodies to life.

Bach and Pärt’s music is rooted in human experience while reaching towards the divine. This program traces a profound journey through three Gardens at the heart of the Biblical narrative they both hold so close: from the hope and temptation of the Garden of Eden to the tragedy and passion of the Garden of Gethsemane, ascending into the Garden of Heaven and, at last, the meditation of silence.

Featuring Pärt’s Fratres and selections from Bach’s most loved cantatas, orchestral and solo music, this promises to be a season highlight and a deeply affirming experience.

Silence & Rapture is presented in collaboration with


JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Kanon zu acht Stimmen, BWV1072
ARVO PÄRT Collage über B-A-C-H: I. Toccata

Garden of Eden
BACH Cantata “Wiederstehe doch des Sunde”, BWV54: Aria “Wer Sünde tut, der ist vom Teufel”
BACH Sonata for Violin and Keyboard in A major: I. Dolce
BACH Cantata “Ich bin ein guter Hirt”, BWV85: Aria “Jesus ist ein guter Hirt”
PÄRT Fratres

Garden of Gethsemane
BACH Sonata for Solo Violin No.2 in A minor: III. Andante
BACH St Matthew Passion: “Erbarme Dich”
PÄRT Für Lennart in memoriam
PÄRT My Heart’s in the Highlands

Garden of Heaven
BACH Cantata “Der Herr denket an uns”, BWV196: Sinfonia
PÄRT Vater unser
BACH Cello Suite No.3 in C major: I. Prelude
BACH Magnificat: “Et exultavit”

Into Silence
PÄRT Pari intervallo
BACH The Art of Fugue: Fuga a 3 Soggetti (unfinished)
PAUL HINDEMITH Trauermusik: IV. Sehr langsam


CONCERT duration
Approx. 1 hour 20 mins (no interval)
Playlist by the ACO
Listen to Silence & Rapture
Pre-concert talk times

Fri 2 Aug, 6:15pm

Sat 3 Aug, 6:15pm

Tue 6 Aug, 7:15pm

Wed 7 Aug, 6:15pm

Sat 10 Aug, 6:45pm

Mon 12 Aug, 6:45pm

Sun 11 Aug, 1:45pm

Tue 13 Aug, 6:45pm

Wed 14 Aug, 6:45pm

Sat 17 Aug, 7:15pm

Sun 18 Aug, 1:15pm

Mon 19 Aug, 6:15pm

Iestyn Davis


Meet countertenor Iestyn Davies

Get to know Iestyn Davies, the vocal soloist in our Silence & Rapture tour.
ACO On Demand

Stream the ACO

ACO On Demand

Register now to access free content. ACO On Demand is the Australian Chamber Orchestra's official streaming platform and home of ACO StudioCast films, exclusive ACO In Concert broadcasts, stunning Pier 2/3 Session videos, and more.