The Four Seasons

GABRIELI Sonata XXI 'con tre violini'
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Kindred
VIVALDI Spring (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.1
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Sleight of Hand
VIVALDI Summer (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.2
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Eye of the Beholder

VIVALDI Concerto per la solennità di s. Lorenzo, RV562: II. Grave
VIVALDI Concerto for Violin in A minor, RV356, Op.3, No.6: III. Presto
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Permission to Evaporate
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Give or Take
VIVALDI Autumn (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.3
MARCELLO Sinfonia (from Il pianto e il riso delle quattro stagioni): II. Andante
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Point of Departure
VIVALDI Winter (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.4
TAWADROS (orch. Tognetti) Constantinople


Vivaldi’s Four Seasons has undergone many reincarnations since it was first played by the talented orphans of the Ospedale della Pietà in 18th-century Venice. Now, Richard Tognetti and Joseph Tawadros bring their own blend of musical alchemy to this program, reminding us that Venice is barely a day’s sail from Cairo.

Almost 300 years after Vivaldi penned the Four Seasons, Joseph Tawadros brings the sounds of the near east to Australia with a selection of original works.