ACO Collective: The Lark Ascending

A concert that will set your heart soaring with music full of beauty and spirit, directed by Principal Violin Helena Rathbone.


With its soaring melodies and joyful trills, Ralph Vaughan Williams creates a radiant portrait of a lark in flight, trailing a silver chain of sound as it rises. Bound to the ground, we can only bask in its beauty. ACO Collective plays this eternal favourite as the centrepiece of an uplifting program directed by ACO Principal Violin Helena Rathbone.

Rathbone has guided the ACO Collective since its founding in 2007, offering audiences across the country the opportunity to hear Australia’s brightest young musicians performing alongside members of the ACO.

The program spans five centuries from Henry Purcell’s Fantasia Upon One Note to Max Richter’s cinematic On the Nature of Daylight. Continuing its commitment to fostering Australian voices, ACO Collective will premiere a new commission by award-winning Australian composer Anne Cawrse, sought after for her appealing, approachable sound.

The concert closes with Suk’s glowing Serenade for Strings. Inspired by Dvořák and Brahms, it is the sound of pure happiness. Chosen for their beauty and spirit, these six works will set your heart aflight.


Principal Partner: ACO Collective
The logo of Wesfarmers Arts


ANNE CAWRSE New Commission for strings (World Premiere)*
HUGO WOLF Italian Serenade
MAX RICHTER On the Nature of Daylight
HENRY PURCELL Fantasia upon One Note
RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS (arr. Adam Johnson) The Lark Ascending
JOSEF SUK Serenade for Strings

*Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra.


Subscribe to our eNews to find out when tickets for this performance will go on sale.

CONCERT duration
Approx. 2 hours, including interval